Teams and Fundraisers

Select A Team:

Donate Login
Edit in profile section

Life

Created by

Life

Like most people who've experienced addictions I started out young. At age 13 I was drinking every weekend, smoking weed and smoking cigarettes. I was never content with my home life and somehow these things made me forget all about it.. By age 14 I was smoking weed with my mom on a regular basis and my mom knew about my heavy drinking, which had increased more then just the weekends. The people I was choosing to hang out with weren't the best influence either.. at age 15 I was in a 6-9 month treatment program and was going threw severe depression. I got out of treatment only to relapse the same day. I stated going out with an old high-school sweetheart, stayed out late and got kicked out at age 17. A month before my 18th birthday I gave birth to my beautiful healthy baby boy. I some how managed to stay sober regardless of the physical abuse I went threw my whole pregnancy..

After so long, maybe 6 months after I had my son, I lost the custody battle.. and all hope. I started drinking again and even worse, heroin. I was doing it daily and any pill I could get my hands on. I was still able to see my son but barley thought I deserved to. I was still on my own and bouncing from friend's house to friend's house. I eventually decided enough was enough and moved to my own reservation, as I am native American, to seek help from family. I came here searching for sobriety and the intention to get back on my feet for another custody trial. I got a job but started partying and drugging again.. this time not only heroin, cocaine, pain pills, alcohol, but Meth. I lost my job and was on the streets once again.. I met my now boyfriend who's family took me in and provided me with everything I needed.

My boyfriend and I now have our own place together . He's working and I start work this week :) I have not seen my son for about 5 months now but I've been sober and clean for 1 month now. From where I've started to where I'm at now is a huge step and I'm only progressing. Once I start working and have a steady income I plan on going back to custody court for my son who is now 1, almost 2. I'm now 19 and have been on my own for years. I've experienced more then some people do in their entire life time. BUT if it wasn't for the hardships. I wouldnt be the strong independent, Beautiful individual I am today and most of all I wuldln't hav my beautiful Blessing of a son. He's my everything. My inspiration. I hope everything only gets better and my son is returned to me to me where he belongs :)


This Story of Hope was created in celebration of recovery and to let families know that there are pathways to hope and healing. The Partnership for Drug-Free Kids is the only nonprofit organization dedicated to helping families who are struggling with their son or daughter's substance use. Please consider sharing this page so that families know where to turn to for help, and that there is always hope.

Guest Book

Comments